John O’Connor

Contributed by John O’Connor

SWVA PIC

The name of my employer has not changed since our last reunion. However, Steel of West Virginia has changed, growing from two plants to four plants. We built a new galvanizing plant and purchased the former Kentucky Electric Steel mill. This allowed me the professional opportunities of establishing new safety, environmental, and human resources policies, plans, and procedures for these plants; hiring new work forces; and negotiating an initial CBA for the former Kentucky Electric plant. When I look back at my time with Steel of West Virginia, Taft, Buchanan, Dinsmore, and AK Steel, I recognize my good fortune for the unique opportunities I have had to gain front line experience in labor and employment matters. My time at AK Steel stood out – seeming almost overwhelming at times – but I certainly grew professionally from it.

As blessed as I have been with my professional opportunities, my personal life has been even better having married Vivian Graf since our last reunion. Who would have thought I would meet, in West Virginia, a Brazilian surfer who had previously lived in Sao Paulo, Aberdeen, Toronto, and Boston?

Family at Iguazu Falls

Clare, John, Vivian, & Christian at Igazu Falls

My new step-son Christian is true to his Brazilian roots excelling in soccer and doing well in school despite taking subjects in his second language. Daughter Clare is enjoying her Economics and International Affairs studies at George Washington University where she is a Junior and planning her spring semester in Madrid. More than a doctor or lawyer, every family needs to have a family electrician!!! And I am fortunate in having my son Luke as our resident electrician. When not doing company business, Luke is busy doing industrial electrical work for contractor in the Ashland, Kentucky Marathon plant.

All but Luke (who had work obligations) had our summer vacation in Christian and Vivian’s home of Brazil traveling to Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Parati, and the Iguazu Falls. This gringo was happy we went during the Brazilian winter at the temps topped 90̊ during our visit to Rio.

 

Leave a comment